My Thoughts on the World Series

Sorry I haven’t posted in- uh, exactly 50 days- but I’ve… oh, OK, I’ll admit I’ve spending way too much time over with that other sport I like. I figure I should probably even out the relationship here, so what else to do but blog about the World Series:

In short, I hated it.

It was the Yankees and the Phillies- I’ve got nothing against the Phillies except they won last year. I’ve got nothing against the Yankees except… they’re the Yankees. I was rooting for an all-LA series, that’s how delirious I was. (My two favorite teams in the playoffs got eliminated first round- Colorado and St. Louis.) The last straw came when the Yankees won. Now, any real American fan was rooting for the Phillies, but like most instances in real life, the team that should win, didn’t. Being a fan of all teams from Buffalo, I’ve experienced that a few times. The one time my favorite team has won a championship (in my lifetime) was this year when the Hershey Bears of the AHL won the Calder Cup. Don’t make fun, it’s the second oldest trophy in the world- if you trust Wikipedia.

Back to the point: the Yankees are spoiled. Who was it- Jorge Posada that said the Yankees were spoiled in the 1990s and 2000s. Like that was old history. The Yankees are still spoiled. That’s how the world is and that’s how it will likely remain, unfortunately for America.

America, or at least its sports, thrive on parity. With the Yankees winning 27 times and some teams only winning one or even no championships, this is bad for America. I’ll get into parity some other time because I’ve also got some words on that.

Continuing Posada’s quote: “To be back and win it is something really special.” Not to us it isn’t, Jorge. It would be special if the Royals had won, or the Cubs, or the Indians, or the Giants, or the Pirates, or the Orioles, or the Tigers, or the Mets, or the Dodgers, or the Athletics, or the Reds, or the Twins, or the Blue Jays, or the Braves, or the Nationals, or the Rangers, or the Mariners, or the Rays, or the Rockies, or the Brewers, or the Astros, or the Padres had won. They’ve waited longer. What is it about the Yankees that they must be in the playoffs (at least) seemingly every year? Whatever happened to parity?

Leave a comment